89, 92, owls, stars, evil laptops, and metabolic catastrophe! :)

I can cross off #89 and add another notch to #92! This past weekend I went camping as I hosted a weekend-long workshop related to my research. For the first time ever, I slept under the stars without a tent, which is something I’ve always wanted to do! I bought a double-height air mattress, got myself nice and comfortable with plenty of blankets, and put it in an open field where I was holding the workshop. It was so lovely falling asleep to the very near sounds of owls and there was a little bit of an adrenaline rush since the area is crawling with black bears. I really, really enjoyed it! I can’t wait for the opportunity to present itself again. I know it’s a small little feat, but I think it’s really nice to put yourself in situations where you’re just a wee bit scared once in a while. It made me feel pretty alive, and I needed that.

Today I looked at my laptop after having not touched it (or my phone) since Thursday and the first thought that came to mind is that my laptop is the seed of all that is evil! Okay not really but… it’s the source of so much stress for me! It symbolizes work, meetings, responsibilities, unfinished writings and assignments, students, and tons of unfinished lists… it was actually slightly painful to open it up. When I got home last night, I put it on my bed and just stared at it for about a half hour before opening it up. Once I did, I couldn’t get my network connection to work so I took it as a sign that I needed until today to be technology-free.

I was SURE I’d lose weight this week, especially after this weekend because I worked my butt off… but sure enough, I gained two pounds! How the hell do I join weight watchers and gain 2 pounds during the first week WHILE spending the last four days of the week camping and eating healthy veggies and meats roasted over a bonfire!? Sheesh. My body hates me. Obviously my metabolism needs a major reroute.

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Posts

2 responses to “89, 92, owls, stars, evil laptops, and metabolic catastrophe! :)

  1. I love this blog it’s so inspiring ‘sleeping under the stars with bears nearby’ love it…

  2. Penny

    I too have done this one time and could maybe do it again but I applaud you for getting out there and doing it. I find it weird to find technology again after camping…How much fun did we have when we were younger and let our imagination guide us not FB or Twitter. Keep up the great work. I am having problems with the scale also but the inches are coming off so we will call it a win anyway!
    You can do this! It is our year :0)

Leave a Reply

