-Sleep, +Work

I really do need to work on this sleep thing if I’m going to lose weight. I didn’t go to bed last night because I had too much to do. In other news I’m happily racking up the work hours. I’ve been eating tons more fruit than I did last week, which is awesome, though I seem to have traded that for the exercise I did last week because I haven’t had time. Will this always be a trade off? I have a colleague who carries around a push-up bar with him so that he can take few-minute breaks for fitness. If I didn’t sweat so much, I’d happily run around the building a few times during the day.

I do have some good news:  I’ll be booking flights for the Dominican Republic and the UK over the next few days, I started a new French class, I had a random dulcimer lesson yesterday, I found out the opening day of Wild Adventures, I’m buying my iPad really soon, I got the dates for my H.S. reunion, and submitted some conference abstracts… all of these things are on my list to your right. SO… a lot can happen in a couple of days! I’m pretty excited about those things.  ALSO – I may have snuck a weigh-in yesterday, and according to my scale I’m two pounds down since Sunday… let’s hope it’s not just sodium/water weight and I can keep it off until the official weigh-in for this week on Sunday!

 

8 Comments

Filed under Daily Posts

8 responses to “-Sleep, +Work

  1. Sounds like you’re moving in the right direction.. but sleep is important! This is just one of numerous studies that there is a direct link between not sleeping and obesity… http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2005/01/050111114820.htm

    Midwives are notorious for being overweight, what with our crazy hours, up to catch babies at 2 a.m., etc… I’m glad I work an 8 – 5 job now 🙂

    • 101in2012

      Thanks for the link!! You’re right – I DO need to nip this before it hinders me any further. I can imagine midwives have the craziest hours of almost anyone!

  2. Penny

    Sounds like a lot going on! You sneaking on the scale is so something I do too….Keep up the great work. I have an older IPad and I love mine when you get it id be glad to send you the names of the photo apps that I have weeded thru so you aren’t buying stuff that is a waste of money and space (if you want). I started school this week and have been taking the longer way to class just to get a few extra steps in…Just a thought! Have a great Thursday!

    • 101in2012

      Thanks! I’d love some app hints! I have this addiction to elevators on campus that I’m trying to curb… will see if I can do better with that along the lines of your few extra steps 🙂

  3. I recommend getting a keyboard with your iPad. It makes writing a delight on the iPad.

  4. Congrats on your two pounds down! Sounds like you’re knocking stuff off your list pretty fast. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

