Short Post: Productivity & No More Cupcakes! (4)

It’s getting quite late so I’ll keep this post short. Today was my best day so far in terms of productivity, and I can only hope it will continue to get better.  I fit a few hours of work in, did 15 minutes on the elliptical, read half of the Dalai Lama’s autobiography, made dinner and socialized with a few friends, cleaned for an hour or so, took a lovely bath, and in a moment I’ll finish my readings for tomorrow.  The only con: my partner has the “ick” – she feels horribly sick and went to sleep at 7pm… hopefully she’ll feel better tomorrow.  No cokes today – AND I finished the dang cupcakes. AND I did better on the water today (not up to 8 glasses yet though!). AND I actually exercised. Booyah! I’m copying (I would never do such a thing) P90X from a friend and I hope to start next week. Even if I can only do a few minutes to start out, I want to try it. Two weeks from now I’ll have my Wii and I’m excited to purchase the neat fitness/dance games that will motivate me to be more active, too. ALSO a friend asked if I would go to the gym with her a couple days per week. Yes!

Food Diary: 

  • Breakfast: skipped (okay I had some water).
  • Lunch: blue brie w/ jalapeño cornbread crackers, chocolate cupcake (kill me!) , water
  • Dinner: turkey pot pie (I had enough ingredients leftover to make another whole one!) , 3 cups water
  • Snacks: slice of apple pie with cool whip on top, half a slice of my friends’ lemon meringue pie, 1 Shocktop Beer, 2 cups water

Notes: 

Okay I’m REALLY trying to get rid of the junk food in my house from the holidays. I’m poor white trash so I can’t possibly justify throwing out food, despite the good it would do my body. When friends come over this week I’ll simply try to load them up with it, and as things disappear from the cupboards, I’ll replace them with healthier treats.

8 Comments

Filed under Daily Posts

8 responses to “Short Post: Productivity & No More Cupcakes! (4)

  1. Well, if anything, you’re honest 🙂 have you started doing daily weigh ins? I pray you get the junk out of the house soon 🙂 I hope your partner feels better soon… No fun having sick people in the house!

  2. I think that we are doing okay. I am still trying to break old habits and it’s hard. Look at yesterday’s food list. It sucked! What is working for me is turing on the Web Cam and seeing myself in “real time”….my face should not be that round!!!! And writing everything down. You’re doing a lot better than me. You exercised! I LOVE the fact that you’re being so honest. I’m convinced that we’ll get there!

    • 101in2012

      You ARE doing okay! I was thinking about my round face, too.. I’m done with it. It can disappear already! We WILL get there!

  3. Hey, hey, hey…P90X, huh? My husband got a borrowed copy of Insanity. So, I’m excited for us, though I feel like I’ll probably only be able to do like 5 minutes. I’ll let you know how it goes if you promise to share about the P90. I’ve got a wii too and got Dance, Dance Revolution plus some other games. That is a really fun way to work up a sweat. You can play alone or with a friend. I say, celebrate your wins. There is always something more you could be doing, but movement is better than stagnation. Progress, not perfection! Keep the momentum going and soon enough your cupboards will be filled with healthy food, you’ll be on that elliptical for 30 minutes 5 days a week, and you’ll be living life on your terms. It doesn’t have to happen overnight. You’ve been practicing these other habits for a long time. And one final opinion – I don’t weigh myself everyday. That is for people who are maintaining weight, in my mind. I am shedding it, so I only weigh once weekly. If I did weigh myself everyday, I’d probably get disheartened. Maybe it would work for you, but for me it is better to weigh once weekly, as long as I do that religiously so that if something isn’t working I catch it right away. PS – Dancing is also a great way to stay moving! I already had my lesson today and my hair was dripping wet! I highly recommend it! -Stef

    • 101in2012

      I’ll definitely let you know how it goes! Progress, not perfection… maybe my favorite quote of the week 🙂 Agreed about the weigh-ins… I’ll be doing it once a week.

  4. My dh was just talking about P90X. Be curious what you think of it. We’ve never tried it but I am definitely curious if it deserves all they hype. Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

