New Semester, Predictions, & Olive Garden (3)

I just discovered that Olive Garden's eggplant parm has 850 cal and 35 grams of fat. Lesson learned!

The art of writing is the art of discovering what you believe.

— Gustave Flaubert

Tomorrow marks the beginning of a new semester which means new coursework, new students, new books to read, new stacks of papers to grade, and new politics. This has been a much-needed break, and I’m not sure what it says that I’m already looking forward to summer! I have quite a bit to do in the next four months, not the least of which is marking about thirty items off this list (pointing to the right).  If I could take a guess at which numbers will definitely be knocked off by May they would be (off “the rest” list) #7, 11, 12, 17, 18, 21, 26, 38, 34, 35, 37, 39, 41, 43, 45, 67, 68, 69, 70, 75, 79, and 91. I’d knock more off but so many of them are general goals for the year, and I won’t knock those off until I’ve satisfied them toward the end of the year.

The past few days have not been nearly as productive as I’ve wanted them to be, and yet each day I’ve pushed the notch just a bit higher. Last night, for example, I found that between 2-6am I was in a writing groove and completed some of my best work in months. I’m proud of that.

Today I discovered the source of many of my issues: social eating. My friends and I need to come up with better excuses to see each other. I ended up at Olive Garden for lunch today (despite Anthony Bourdain making me promise never to eat there or Macaroni Grill – long story) and had a meal that was quite bland.  So often I settle for mediocre meals for the sake of socializing. This means a couple of things: 1) I’m gorging on unnecessary calories, and 2) my wallet suffers. I spend a *ridiculous* amount of money on restaurants each month, and as one of my goals this year is to regain financial health (and I’m already on the bandwagon!), I promise to be more conscious about spending money on crappy food just for the sake of eating. By the way, this is also why I have promised myself to cook 100 meals at home this year… 

The more I think about it, the new semester is a good thing for me – it’s a good thing for this blog and for my goals. I’ll be waking up much earlier , eating smaller meals more frequently throughout the day (my work days tend to be 12-15 hours), carrying my water bottle (no, I didn’t get 8 glasses today – BUT I got much more than the past two days combined. That’s gotta count for something, right?), and walking more from building to building.

So, let’s take a look at today. I’ll be happy when my period is over and I can stop craving chocolate like it’s necessary to the air I breathe… (too much info?)…

Food Diary: 

  • Breakfast: coffee, creamer
  • Lunch: eggplant parm @ Olive Garden, salad, 1 breadstick w/ alfredo, raspberry lemonade
  • Dinner: Leftover turkey pot pie (homemade – 2 servings), water (3 cups!)
  • Snacks: chocolate cupcake, water (1 cup)

Notes: 

  • The closest I came to being active today was the hour I spent cleaning out and replacing the belt on my vacuum. I went to lunch with friends, sat in the library while my partner interviewed for a new job (she’s looking for something that pays better),  and did some Dollar Tree shopping for cleaning supplies. I’m doing better on the water, but need to step it up further. Tomorrow I’ll try for 8 glasses again and add in some fruit.  My office and the main areas of our house are clean and decluttered, though my bedroom, the guest bedroom, and laundry area are disheveled. I wanted to have everything spotless before tomorrow. I’ll try to do an hour each day until this weekend, then finish.
4 Comments

Filed under Daily Posts

4 responses to “New Semester, Predictions, & Olive Garden (3)

  1. I think by nature we are all social eaters. I do the same thing. I have convinced on of my buddys to meet me at subway instead of our fav Mexican restaurant. Baby steps is what I am calling that. Keep blogging. I look forward to hearing your progress. It takes a village to stick with things and well…baby steps that’s all I got. Water is a hard on for me too. If I keep a glass beside me I drink it. If not I dont even think about it. Have a good rest of the day!

    • 101in2012

      Ack I wish I liked Subway. During College all I ate was Subway so now I have an aversion to it. Baby steps are good 🙂

  2. Water definitely helps so good job. I LOVE going out to eat and Olive Garden doesn’t have a lot of options there for low fat dining. I was told by someone in my Weight Watcher’s group (years ago) that Macaroni Grill supposedly soaks their chicken in liquid butter (not sure if it’s true anymore but he claimed he worked there ). No wonder I couldn’t get my chicken to come out like theirs – lol. Keep up the good work!

  3. Progress, not perfection is one of my mottos. Celebrate the winse, then ask what worked, what didnt, what next? Keep on truckin’!

Leave a Reply

