Friend Makin’ Monday: Goals, Health, Mint.com, Meditation, & Chocolate

*First, thanks to Bella for introducing me to Friend Makin’ Monday (FMM)! 

Tomorrow is my last day of winter break. Ours is only a couple weeks long, but I could sit here for an hour and still not come up with anything I’ve accomplished since it began. Christmas was lovely and New Years was uneventful (especially in place of last New Year’s Eve, which I spent in Rome), yet it marked the beginning of this pilgrimage, so I’m more than grateful for it.

Back to FMM. Here’s a paragraph copied from Bella’s blog post today:

“If you’ve taken part in FMM then you know the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section at: www.alltheweigh.com so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to post your own FMM post and comment on a couple of other posts. Now it’s time for this week’s topic!”

This week’s focus is this: GOALS.

Just take a look at my list of goals for the year (to your right). They’re numerous for sure. I’ve had a few people question whether I’ll be able to do it, and honestly, if I don’t, it won’t be the end of the world. Don’t get me wrong – I’ll try my absolute best. Yet, the purpose of this blog is to keep myself accountable and to stretch my limits. So often we settle into our lives and exist in a mediocre place. I can’t stand the thought of it. So –  that’s what this list seeks to do, and if at the end of 2012 that has happened and I can prove it via the numbers, the photos, and the blog posts, I’ll feel accomplished.

I think though, that by looking at my list, I can narrow down a few themes that my goals represent. The most obvious one I can see is health: physical, emotional, spiritual, and financial.  A second level analysis of this would reveal something deeper – it’s about the cultivation of personal integrity and self-esteem. Nearly all of the tasks I’ve listed for myself relate to this cultivation in some manner. Perhaps I should look for a couple of books on these topics to help me find my way.

Today I took a step toward financial health and joined Mint.com. So far I’m delighted with the account, and I hope it will help me keep track of things better than I have in the past. It lets me see where every dollar I spend ends up by refreshing my bank account transactions and categorizing them into a budget. I’m a pie-chart kinda girl and that’s how it breaks things down. I definitely recommend signing up. It’s free by the way. 

I also took a step toward spiritual health by downloading the iPhone app “Simply Being.” It’s a series of voice-guided meditations based on time increments. Yesterday I did both the 5- and 15-minute meditations, and they were both quite lovely. I have been meditating on and off for almost my entire life, and have always found that I do better with guided meditations than when I just sit. I think my ADD gets in the way.

Finally, my goal by the end of the night is to publish my own dot-com (kept private for professional reasons). I’ve finished designing it and the only steps left are to sync the design with the domain name. I’ve wanted to do this for a long time. I think in most professions now, it’s important to have a virtual business card – give people something to focus on when they google you other than your social networking accounts. Maybe by tomorrow I can have #43 crossed off the list!

Today’s Food Diary: 

  • Breakfast: Coffee with creamer & a chocolate cupcake (Don’t kill me! I’m trying to get the sweets out of my house!)
  • Lunch: Skipped
  • Dinner: Homemade turkey pot pie (made with Christmas leftovers – came out awesome!!!), Water, Coke
  • Snacks: Cornbread jalapeño crackers with blue brie (brie made with blue molds) and a few slices of a mozzarella & prosciutto roll, some spicy red paper hummus, a handful of grapes, some cracked pepper triscuits, another cupcake.

Notes: 

  • I can hear you yelling at me for the above food diary. Let me start by stating that I have a ton of leftover crap in the house from the holidays and my break. Once it’s gone, it’s gone. I won’t buy/make anymore junk.  One of my biggest obstacles this year is going to be my sweet tooth. I am a chocoholic.  Along a similar vein, I almost never drink soda and for the past two days I’ve had some (I don’t do diet drinks because the artificial sugar in them is worse for you than the regular soda in the first place). I bought a six pack of cokes for Christmas eve, and I have one left – tomorrow should be the last!  Finally – I DID walk a dog today, but I’m not counting it because she wasn’t my own (I’m watching a friends’ while she’s on vacation). I have a huge fenced yard (well huge for living in the city), so it’s so easy to just let my dogs play in the yard without picking up the leash. That’s what I’m trying to change.  Anyway – looking at my food diary above is pretty depressing. I need to add more fruits/veggies big time. AND more water. My goal for tomorrow = 8 glasses. 
4 Comments

Filed under Daily Posts

4 responses to “Friend Makin’ Monday: Goals, Health, Mint.com, Meditation, & Chocolate

  1. I absolutely adore Bella! Thanks for joining us! =)

  2. Uma

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I just posted day nine. I am also now following your blog. I love the layout, it looks great.
    Uma

  3. Downloading Simply Being now … I’m not gonna holler at younfor the food choices, because rpthey are simply choices. I will share with you that when I quit smoking cigarettes, I left 29 packs of cigs in the Sydney airport and never looked back… That was 6.5 years ago… When I decided to start Dukan, I got a big trash bad, filled it with all the food not on the diet and got rid of it… Not a waste on my mind, since the savings in my health care would balance it out, and then some… Chocolate? No probes, I got the Dukan Chocolate/espresso cookie recipe… I’ll upload tomorrow 🙂

  4. Sorry spelling horrible…took sleep tab, getting off now 🙂

Leave a Reply

