Happy New Year!

2012: my blank slate

As promised, here is post numero uno. New Years Eve. I live in the eastern time zone, so I’m almost an hour into 2012. The year changed as I browsed home decor websites for room makeover ideas – I blinked and it was like the gun went off at the beginning of a race (only it was fireworks). I began to rush around the house with a busy mind, adding more items to my give-away pile and in an even more dramatic move, I started turning over my junk room in an attempt to create a new bedroom – for myself – away from my partner. I should give you some background….

Hi there – it’s nice to meet you. First, thank you for taking time out of the beginning of your year to read this post. I do appreciate it. Cyberspace is an odd place – and I do think of it as a tangible place. It is so easy to be anonymous, to talk to strangers, and to take chances. That’s what this site is about. This is my new cyber home, my new accountability network, my new public notebook – like an online living space where I’ll be curling up with a cup of tea and spilling my guts.

I’m almost thirty and if there’s such a thing as a middle-of-midlife crisis, that’s where I stand. My career is at a changing point (positive I hope),  my long-term relationship is done for, I’m in the midst of a spiritual emergency (more on that later), and I am on the verge of looking like a female-sumo-meets-homely-geek complete with bad hair, horrible skin, nearly one hundred extra pounds, and an anxiety problem. As I said above, I spent the first forty-five minutes of 2012 trying to carve a new space for myself in my home. I promised myself months ago that if things in my relationship did not improve by this very moment that I would leave altogether. I can’t do that yet – and I’m far too much still in love to go through with it – but I need to take a stand, to make a drastic point, to show I mean business. I’m hoping I get the point across – nothing else seems to. There’s too much at stake this year… just look at this list on the right-hand side of this page. I have over one hundred tasks to complete and only 365 days to do it in. I can’t let anything hold me back. Today, this first day of the new year, is going to be the first mile that I run (not literally – that will come later). I need to make it count.

As for the list, it’s pretty self-explanatory, right? You see the tasks. I see the tasks. I must do the tasks. I’m ready for this.  My only hope is that there are a few people out there who are as excited as I am about the new year. I’d love to find some folks out there to give some reciprocal encouragement. I sure as hell need it – I bet some of you do, too.

Here’s to 2012! Here’s to my 100+ task challenge! Here’s to 365 days! 

Ready, Set, Go!

18 Comments

Filed under Daily Posts

18 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. 1,2,3 GO!!! Happy New Year!

  2. Ambitious list. If you need book suggestions, I probably can suggest a few. I read way too much.

  3. I will enjoy following along, but can I make one suggestion? 100 books in a year is a lot if you’re not a speed reader. That’s ambitious.

    • 101in2012

      I’m in the glorious world of academia, so I typically read about 1 1/2 books per week anyway. I assure you it’s not overly ambitious. Thank you for commenting! 🙂

  4. Best wishes in your journey. Your goals are high, but I know you can do it!

  5. Alright, girl…I’m watching! Can’t wait to see the numbers go up in the upper right hand corner of your blog. I’d recommend any book by Cheri Huber. I’m not kidding, they are simple, yet profound, you could read them in 30 minutes and they could change your life. I’m on the 100+-pounds-to-lose bandwagon, too, so lets support one another in 2012.

    -Stef

    • 101in2012

      Done! I got your back! Thanks for stopping by! Is there any book in particular I should look for by her to start with?

  6. PS – maybe you can guest blog when you take that salsa class and/or learn Hip Hop dances and share your experiences! I can’t wait to hear about those….when will you do them??

    • 101in2012

      Because of my profession, it will be REALLY easy for me to get on top of both of these. I think I’ll tackle salsa first… I’ll make a phone call soon 🙂

  7. We are in the same weight loss boat. I’ve mentioned my efforts to lose weight in 2012 in my blog. So maybe we can support each other this year. Best of luck to you!

  8. You can do it! I am in the weight loss boat too so let’s all do this together. It’s not going to be easy but it will be worth it.

  9. jellyfishdreams

    Thanks for stopping by my place! Congratulations on taking the all important first step. For me it was the hardest. Good luck!

  10. Great lists and ambitious goals, hope your year progresses the way you want it too! http://ministryofhappines.wordpress.com

  11. Great lists and ambitious goals, hope your year progresses the way you want it too! http://ministryofhappiness.wordpress.com

  12. Happy New Year and too you and I am so looking forward to reading about your progress!!

Leave a Reply

